‘Twas I That Did It.

It is too easy read the accounts of the trials and crucifixion of Christ and only regard them as historical record. Horatius Bonar wrote a hymn that reminds us that we were there. Our sin, my sin, is what condemned Christ. My heart rebelled against Christ and rejected the Savior.

 

“But God,” being rich in mercy, opened my eyes to Christ and drew me to trust in Him. Bonar closes with the assurance of forgiveness for the deepest of sin through faith in Christ. Sin so vile it would crucify Christ, can be washed whiter than snow.

 

 

“‘Twas I That Did It.”

Horatius Bonar, 1857

 

 

I see the crowd in Pilate’s hall,

I mark their wrathful mien;

Their shouts of “crucify” appall,

With blasphemy between.

 

And of that shouting multitude

I feel that I am one;

And in that din of voices rude,

I recognise my own.

 

I see the scourges tear his back,

I see the piercing crown,

And of that crowd who smote and mock,

I feel that I am one.

 

Around yon cross, the throng I see,

Mocking the sufferer’s groan,

Yet still my voice it seems to be,—

As if I mocked alone.

 

‘Twas I that shed the sacred blood,

I nailed him to the tree,

I crucified the Christ of God,

I joined the mockery.

 

Yet not the less that blood avails,

To cleanse away my sin,

And not the less that cross prevails

To give me peace within.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “‘Twas I That Did It.

  1. Barb Torp-Pedersen

    Excellent, did you also mention and link it from Facebook?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. I continue to stand in awe of the incredible mercy and grace of our Lord who would save a wretched man as I.

Leave a comment